Research

Research, Promotion of young researchers and provided services … for the benefit of the horse

ISME carries out horse-related research in collaboration with leading national and international partners in:

  • Hereditary backgrounds, prevention and therapy of respiratory, muscular, dental and skin diseases
  • Reproduction methods, fertility and well-being of breeding animals
  • Prevention and fighting of infectious diseases
  • Equine sports medicine, performance physiology and rehabilitation
  • Animal welfare and well-being

The results gained from these research projects can be applied in practice. Specialized services are offered in both clinics across the two locations.

Research projects at ISME

Pulmonary diseases

Horses which are kept in permanent stabling are exposed to a variety of allergens and irritants, which do not occur in a natural environment. In first place is hay dust, which contains mould spores and so-called endotoxins (toxins produced by microorganisms), which can trigger allergies. Such allergens and irritants are responsible for a series of wide-spread, non-contagious pulmonary diseases. As a connection with stabling clearly exists, these diseases are in a way civilization diseases.

>>More information

Fertility disorders

Fertility disorders in breeding animals with a high breeding potential are not a rarity and of significance technically, emotionally as well as economically. In spite of most modern breeding methods and – management, foal rates are still lower than in nature.

ISME has conducted controlled studies with mares which had permanent contact with stallions and significant changes in their sexual behavior as well as an improved fertility could be detected.

>>More information

Equine sarcoid

In most cases the effective treatment of sarcoids is a big challenge for veterinarians, horse-, donkey- and mule owners and the affected patients. These skin tumors are characterized by a high chance of recurrence and depending on localization on the animal (eyelid, on joints...) removal is often very difficult.

At ISME, continuative experimental and clinical studies are in progress at present with the goal to research the still unexplained origin and spreading of this disease and to develop new treatment approaches.

>>More information

Gait analysis

Lameness causes massive losses in horses of all breeds and disciplines. The diagnosis and treatment is often extensive and frustrating for horse owners and veterinarians alike. Until recently, all lameness cases were diagnosed by subjective analysis of the examination. ISME is newly working on an objective analysis method.

>>More information

Metabolic disorders

Equine Metabolic Syndrome (EMS) is a condition particularly prevalent in horses and ponies that are referred to as “easy keepers”. EMS shows many parallelisms with Metabolic Syndrome in people. In people, the main concern of metabolic syndrome is an increased risk for developing cardiovascular disease (hypertension, stroke, myocardial infarct heart failure etc.). In contrast, the main risk of EMS in horses lies in the propensity to develop laminitis.

The risk for developing cardiovascular disease in horses with EMS has not been thoroughly studied, however. In cooperation with dedicated owners and referring veterinarians, the ISME is conducting a clinical study to determine possible cardiovascular effects in horses and ponies with EMS.

>>More Information

Electromyography

High-degree ataxia without failure of the central nervous system, with or without clearly reduced flexibility of the neck in grown horses and foals shows together with medical history in most cases the localization of the cause: the neck.

At ISME, we examine in a clinical study, if and how well the results of the quantitative electromyography (qEMG) of the neck muscles of the horse corresponds with imaging and pathological findings.  The reliability of this method is being examined herewith.

>>More information

Joint diseases

Joint diseases are a common cause for lameness in horses. In most cases diagnoses can be made via conventional lameness exams with conduction- and joint anesthesia and subsequent X-Rays, resp. ultrasound. Articular cartilage and other soft parts can be depicted in more detail via magnetic resonance tomographic exams. Other lesions however cannot be diagnosed with an imaging method. For such a diagnosis an arthroscopy is necessary.

At ISME continuative experimental and clinical studies are in progress at present to make this technique useful for other joints like the tarsal joint, the fetlock joint and the carpal joint as well as for the podotrochlear bursa.

>>More information

Atypical myopathy in grazing horses

Fohlen mit atypischer WeidemyopathieWe don’t have any current projects on Equine Atypical Myopathy. Please find further information about the disease here:

>>More information

La recherche

Recherche, prestations de service et promotion du développement pour le bien-être du cheval

L‘ISME effectue des recherches dans les domaines touchants aux équidés, en association avec des partenaires nationaux et internationaux :

  • Disposition génétique, prévention et thérapie des maladies de la peau, du système respiratoire, des problèmes musculaires et dentaires
  • Méthodes de reproduction, fertilité et bien-être des chevaux d’élevage
  • Prévention et lutte contre les maladies infectieuses
  • Médecine du sport, physiologie de l’effort, réhabilitation
  • Protection des animaux et bien-être

Les résultats de la recherche sont appliqués dans la pratique clinique. Les prestations sont spécialisées selon le lieu ou sont offertes sur les deux sites.

Projets de recherche de l'ISME

Affections pulmonaires 

Les chevaux détenus en écurie sont soumis à de nombreux allergènes et substances irritantes non présentes dans leur environement naturel. La poussière de foin, contenant des spores de moisissures et des endotoxines (toxines produites par des microorganismes),  représente  la principale cause d’allergie. Ces allergènes et substances irritantes sont responsables d’affections pulmonaires non contagieuses. La cause de ces maladies étant la détention, on se trouve confronté à une maladie de civilisation.

>>plus d'nformations

Les problèmes de fértilité

Les problèmes de stérilité chez les chevaux destinés à l’élevage ne sont pas rares et ont des répercutions émotionnelles, scientifiques et économiques. Malgré tous les progrés dans la gestion de l’élevage et les méthodes de reproduction, le taux de naissance reste plus bas que dans la nature.

Des études effectuées à l’ISME ont permis de noter qu’une jument ayant un contact permanent avec un étalon, montrait un comportement sexuel différent et une meilleure fécondité.

>>plus d'informations

Le sarcoïde équin

Le traitement durable des sarcoïdes place dans bien des cas les vétérinaires, les propriétaires de chevaux, d'ânes et des mulets ainsi que les patients devant un défi majeur. Ces tumeurs cutanées sont caractérisées par une forte tendance à la récidive et peuvent selon la localisation (paupière, articulation, …) être difficiles à enlever.

>>plus d'informations

L'analyse d'allures

Les boiteries sont la cause d’une diminution massive des performances chez toutes les races de chevaux et dans toutes les disciplines. Les diagnostiquer et les traiter est souvent compliqué et frustrant pour les propriétaires ainsi que pour les vétérinaires. Jusqu’à récemment, les boiteries étaient diagnostiquées de manière subjective par le vétérinaire. L’ISME travaille actuellement sur une méthode d’analyse objective.

>>plus d'informations

Maladies métaboliques

Le syndrome métabolique équin (SME) est un dérèglement hormonal apparaissant le plus souvent chez les chevaux et poneys sujets à l'embonpoint. Le SME est comparable sur de nombreux points au syndrome métabolique décrit en médecine humaine. Chez l’humain le risque principal de cette maladie est l’augmentation du risque de problèmes cardiovasculaires (hypertension, accident vasculaire cérébral, attaque, arrêt cardiaque), tandis que chez le cheval un risque plus élevé de développer une fourbure est à craindre.

Les risques de maladies cardiovasculaires en relation avec le SME n’ont pas encore été examinés de façon approfondie chez le cheval. L’ISME mène en ce moment une étude clinique en collaboration avec les propriétaires et les vétérinaires référents, sur les liens entre le SME et les maladies cardiovasculaires.

>>plus d'informations

L'électromyographie

Des ataxies graves sans symptômes du système nerveux central avec ou sans réduction de la mobilité de l’encolure chez le cheval adulte ou chez le poulain ont la plupart du temps leur origine au niveau de l’encolure.

Une étude clinique est en cours à l’ISME, dont le but est de déterminer si les résultats de l’éléctromyélographie quantitative (qEMG) au niveau de l’encolure sont compatibles avec ceux de l’examen radiologique et de l’examen anatomo-pathologique et dans quelle est la fiabilité de cet examen.

>>plus d'informations

Les pathologies articulaires

Les pathologies touchant les articulations sont une cause courante pour les boiteries chez le cheval. Ces pathologies sont le plus souvent diagnosticables avec les moyens courants tels que pratiqués lors d’un examen de boiterie : anesthésies tronculaires, anesthésies locales des articulations, examens radiographique et échographique. L’imagerie à résonnance magnétique permet de mieux visualiser le cartilage articulaire et autres tissus mous, par exemple comme lors d’une lésion du ménisque et du ligament croisé antérieur.

>>plus d'informations

La myopathie atypique des chevaux au pré

Fohlen mit atypischer WeidemyopathieAucun projets concernant la myopathie atypique sont actuellement en cours de réalisation. Vous trouverez des informations supplémentaires concernant cette maladie en cliquant sur le lien ci-dessous:

>>plus d'informations