Research

Research, Promotion of young researchers and provided services … for the benefit of the horse

ISME carries out horse-related research in collaboration with leading national and international partners in:

  • Hereditary backgrounds, prevention and therapy of respiratory, muscular, dental and skin diseases
  • Reproduction methods, fertility and well-being of breeding animals
  • Prevention and fighting of infectious diseases
  • Equine sports medicine, performance physiology and rehabilitation
  • Animal welfare and well-being

The results gained from these research projects can be applied in practice. Specialized services are offered in both clinics across the two locations.

Research projects at ISME

Pulmonary diseases

Horses which are kept in permanent stabling are exposed to a variety of allergens and irritants, which do not occur in a natural environment. In first place is hay dust, which contains mould spores and so-called endotoxins (toxins produced by microorganisms), which can trigger allergies. Such allergens and irritants are responsible for a series of wide-spread, non-contagious pulmonary diseases. As a connection with stabling clearly exists, these diseases are in a way civilization diseases.

>>More information

Fertility disorders

Fertility disorders in breeding animals with a high breeding potential are not a rarity and of significance technically, emotionally as well as economically. In spite of most modern breeding methods and – management, foal rates are still lower than in nature.

ISME has conducted controlled studies with mares which had permanent contact with stallions and significant changes in their sexual behavior as well as an improved fertility could be detected.

>>More information

Equine sarcoid

In most cases the effective treatment of sarcoids is a big challenge for veterinarians, horse-, donkey- and mule owners and the affected patients. These skin tumors are characterized by a high chance of recurrence and depending on localization on the animal (eyelid, on joints...) removal is often very difficult.

At ISME, continuative experimental and clinical studies are in progress at present with the goal to research the still unexplained origin and spreading of this disease and to develop new treatment approaches.

>>More information

Gait analysis

Lameness causes massive losses in horses of all breeds and disciplines. The diagnosis and treatment is often extensive and frustrating for horse owners and veterinarians alike. Until recently, all lameness cases were diagnosed by subjective analysis of the examination. ISME is newly working on an objective analysis method.

>>More information

Metabolic disorders

Equine Metabolic Syndrome (EMS) is a condition particularly prevalent in horses and ponies that are referred to as “easy keepers”. EMS shows many parallelisms with Metabolic Syndrome in people. In people, the main concern of metabolic syndrome is an increased risk for developing cardiovascular disease (hypertension, stroke, myocardial infarct heart failure etc.). In contrast, the main risk of EMS in horses lies in the propensity to develop laminitis.

The risk for developing cardiovascular disease in horses with EMS has not been thoroughly studied, however. In cooperation with dedicated owners and referring veterinarians, the ISME is conducting a clinical study to determine possible cardiovascular effects in horses and ponies with EMS.

>>More Information

Electromyography

High-degree ataxia without failure of the central nervous system, with or without clearly reduced flexibility of the neck in grown horses and foals shows together with medical history in most cases the localization of the cause: the neck.

At ISME, we examine in a clinical study, if and how well the results of the quantitative electromyography (qEMG) of the neck muscles of the horse corresponds with imaging and pathological findings.  The reliability of this method is being examined herewith.

>>More information

Joint diseases

Joint diseases are a common cause for lameness in horses. In most cases diagnoses can be made via conventional lameness exams with conduction- and joint anesthesia and subsequent X-Rays, resp. ultrasound. Articular cartilage and other soft parts can be depicted in more detail via magnetic resonance tomographic exams. Other lesions however cannot be diagnosed with an imaging method. For such a diagnosis an arthroscopy is necessary.

At ISME continuative experimental and clinical studies are in progress at present to make this technique useful for other joints like the tarsal joint, the fetlock joint and the carpal joint as well as for the podotrochlear bursa.

>>More information

Atypical myopathy in grazing horses

Fohlen mit atypischer WeidemyopathieWe don’t have any current projects on Equine Atypical Myopathy. Please find further information about the disease here:

>>More information

Forschung

Forschung, Nachwuchsförderung und Dienstleistung....zum Wohle des Pferdes

Das ISME forscht rund ums Pferd in Zusammenarbeit mit führenden nationalen und internationalen Partnern:

  • Erbliche Grundlagen, Prävention und Therapie von Respirations-, Muskel-, Zahn- und Hauterkrankungen
  • Reproduktionsmethoden, Fruchtbarkeit und Wohlbefinden der Zuchttiere
  • Prävention und Bekämpfung von Infektionskrankheiten
  • Arbeitsmedizin, Leistungphysiologie und Rehabilitation
  • Tierschutz und Wohlbefinden

Die aus den Forschungsarbeiten gewonnenen Erkenntnisse finden in der klinischen Praxis Anwendung. Dienstleistungen werden an beiden Standorten spezialisiert sowie standortübergreifend angeboten.

Forschungsprojekte des ISME

Lungenkrankheiten

Pferde in Stallhaltung sind einer Vielzahl von Allergenen und Reizstoffen ausgesetzt, die in ihrer natürlichen Umgebung nicht vorkommen. An erster Stelle steht der Heustaub, welcher Schimmelpilzsporen und sogenannte Endotoxine (von Mikroorganismen produzierte Giftstoffe) enthält, die Allergien auslösen können. Solche Allergene und Reizstoffe sind für eine Reihe sehr verbreiteter, nicht ansteckender Lungenkrankheiten verantwortlich. Da ein klarer Zusammenhang mit der Stallhaltung besteht, handelt es sich gewissermassen um Zivilisationskrankheiten.

>>Mehr Informationen

Fruchtbarkeitsstörungen

Fruchtbarkeitsstörungen bei Zuchttieren mit hohem züchterischem Potential sind keine Seltenheit und nicht nur von zuchttechnischer und emotionaler, sondern auch wirtschaftlicher Bedeutung. Trotz modernsten Zuchtmethoden und -management werden auch heutzutage schlechtere Abfohlraten als in der Natur erreicht.

In kontrollierten Studien des ISME an Stuten mit permanentem Hengstkontakt wurden neuerdings deutliche Änderungen des Sexualverhaltens und eine verbesserte Fruchtbarkeit festgestellt.

>>Mehr Informationen

Equines Sarkoid

Die nachhaltige Behandlung von Sarkoiden stellt in vielen Fällen die Tierärzte, Pferde-, Esel- und Mautierbesitzer und die betroffenen Patienten vor eine grosse Herausforderung. Diese Hauttumore sind gekennzeichnet durch eine hohe Rezidivneigung und können je nach Lokalisation am Tier (Augenlied, über Gelenken,..) oft nur schwierig entfernt werden.

Am ISME sind derzeit weiterführende experimentelle und klinische Studien im Gange, mit dem Ziel die noch ungeklärte Entstehung und Verbreitung dieser Krankheit zu erfoschen und neue Beahndlungsansätze zu entwickeln.

>>Mehr Informationen

Ganganalyse

Lahmheiten verursachen massive Ausfälle bei Pferden aller Rassen und Disziplinen. Sie zu diagnostizieren und therapieren ist häufig aufwendig und frustrierend für Pferdebesitzer und Tierarzt geichermassen. Bis vor kurzem wurden alle Lahmheiten durch die subjektiven Einschätzungen des Untersuchers diagnostiziert. Neu arbeitet das ISME an einer objektiven Analysemethode.

>>Mehr Informationen

Stoffwechselerkrankungen

Das Equine Metabolische Syndrom (EMS) ist eine hormonell bedingte Stoffwechselerkrankung, die insbesondere bei leichtfuttrigen Pferde- und Ponyrassen auftritt.  EMS weist viele Parallelen mit dem in der Humanmedizin beschriebenen Metabolischen Syndrom auf. Während beim Menschen das Hauptrisiko des Metabolischen Syndroms in einem  vermehrten Auftreten von Herz und Gefässerkrankungen (Bluthochdruck, Schlaganfall, Herzinfarkt, Herzversagen etc.)  liegt, fürchtet man beim Pferd v. a. eine erhöhte Neigung eine Hufrehe zu entwickeln.

Dagegen wurde das Risiko von Pferden mit EMS für Herz Kreislauf Erkrankungen bisher noch nicht eingehend untersucht. In Kooperation mit engagierten Pferdebesitzern und überweisenden Tierärzten wird am ISME zurzeit in einer klinischen Studie untersucht, ob auch beim Pferd und Pony Zusammenhänge zwischen EMS und Herz- Kreislauferkrankungen bestehen.

>>Mehr Informationen

Elektromyographie

Hochgradige Ataxien ohne zentrale Ausfälle mit oder ohne klar reduzierter Halsbeweglichkeit bei erwachsenen Pferden und bei Fohlen geben zusammen mit der Amnese meist klare Hinweise auf die Lokaliation der Ursache: der Hals.

Am ISME wird zur Zeit an einer klinischen Studie überprüft, ob und wie gut die Resultate der quantitativen Elektromyogarphie (qEMG) an der Halsmuskulatur des Pferdes mit bildgebenden und pathologischen Befunden übereinstimmt. Hiermit soll die Verlässlichkeit dieser Methode überprüft werden.

>>Mehr Informationen

Gelenkserkrankungen

Gelenkserkrankungen sind eine häufige Ursache für Lahmheiten beim Pferd. In vielen Fällen kann mittels einer konventionellen Lahmheitsuntersuchung mit Leitungs- und Gelenksanästhesien und anschliessendem Röntgen bzw. Ultraschall eine Diagnose gestellt werden. Gelenkknorpel und andere Wichteile sind mittels magnetresonanztomographischer Untersuchungen detaillierter darstellbar. Andere Läsionen sind jedoch nicht mit einer bildgebenden Methode zu diagnostizieren. Für eine solche Diagnose ist eine Arthoskopie notwendig.

Am ISME werden derzeit weiterführende experimentielle und klinische Studien durchegführt um diese Technik auch an anderen Gelenken, wie das Sprunggelenk, das Fesselgelenk und das Carpalgelenk sowie für den Hufrollenschleimbeutel nutzbar zu machen.

>>Mehr Informationen

Atypische Myopathie der Weidepferde

Fohlen mit atypischer WeidemyopathieIm Moment haben wir keine laufenden Projekte zur Atypischen Myopathie. Weitere Informationen zur Erkrankung finden Sie hier.

>>Mehr Informationen