Electromyography

High-degree ataxia without failure of the central nervous system, with or without clearly reduced flexibility of the neck in grown horses and foals shows together with medical history in most cases the localization of the cause: the neck.

But what to do when subtle signs of ataxia, for instance dysmetria of hind legs, uncoordinated downhill walking, ambling when going backwards, slightly reduced flexibility of the neck or badly localized lameness show up?

These symptoms could result from changes of the spinal cord and/or the nerves from the neck muscles and thoracic spine.  Besides extensive clinical examinations (including neurological and orthopedic examinations and imaging methods (MRI, myelography, X-Rays, ultrasound), electromyography can be used additionally as a diagnostic method.

At ISME, a clinical study examines, if and how well the results of the quantitative electromyography (qEMG) of the neck muscles of the horse corresponds with imaging and pathological findings.  The reliability of this method is being examined herewith.

Elektromyographie

Hochgradige Ataxien ohne zentrale Ausfälle mit oder ohne klar reduzierter Halsbeweglichkeit  bei erwachsenen Pferden und bei Fohlen geben zusammen mit der Anamnese meist klare Hinweise auf die Lokalisation der Ursache: der Hals.

Was aber machen bei subtilen Anzeichen einer Ataxie wie zum Beispiel Dysmetrien der Hinterhand, unkoordiniertem Bergablaufen, Passgang beim Rückwärtstreten, leicht reduzierte Halsbeweglichkeit oder schlecht lokalisierbare Lahmheit?

Diese Symptome können als Folge von Veränderungen des Rückenmarks und/oder der abgehenden Nerven im Bereich der Hals-und Brustwirbelsäule sein. Neben der eingehenden klinischen Untersuchung (inklusive neurologische und orthopädische Untersuchung) und bildgebenden Verfahren (MRI, Myelographie, Röntgen, Ultraschall) kann die Elektromyographie ergänzend als diagnostische Methode eingesetzt werden.

Am ISME wird zur Zeit an einer klinischen Studie überprüft, ob und wie gut die Resultate der quantitativen Elektromyographie (qEMG) an der Halsmuskulatur des Pferdes mit bildgebenden und pathologischen Befunden übereinstimmt. Hiermit soll die Verlässlichkeit dieser Methode überprüft werden.