Gait analysis

Lameness causes massive losses in horses of all breeds and disciplines. The diagnosis and treatment is often extensive and frustrating for horse owners and veterinarians alike. Until recently all lameness cases were diagnosed by subjective analysis of the examination.

This examination experience is important, but all the same repeatability and conformity between different and even experienced examiners is often unsatisfactory (ca. 60-70%).

Most recently, ISME can offer an objective reading and quantification besides the conventional subjective lameness examination. For that,
the left-right symmetry (asymmetry = irregularities = lameness) is measured and read during movement via sensors attached to the body.

Combined, the subjective impressions and the objective evaluation offer more precise information about localization and degree of lameness. This new technique also helps to evaluate comparative values, which can for instance specify and document the degree of a subjectively evaluated improvement more exactly after local anesthesia or treatment.

Based on this, the motion sensors are also being used in research projects. Initial ISME research projects with examinations in trotter horses are already in process.

A further study, which analyses the influence of routinely conducted dental treatments on rideability of horses, is in advanced planning. The evaluation of the data which is to some extent elaborate, is carried out with the collaboration of the renowned “Structure and Motion” Laboratory of the Royal Veterinary College in London.

Ganganalyse

Lahmheiten  verursachen massive Ausfälle bei Pferde aller Rassen und Disziplinen. Sie zu diagnostizieren und therapieren ist häufig aufwendig und frustrierend für Pferdebesitzer und Tierarzt gleichermassen. Bis vor kurzem wurden alle Lahmheiten durch die subjektiven Einschätzungen des Untersuchers diagnostiziert.

Die Erfahrung des Untersuchers spielt hierbei eine entscheidende Rolle, und dennoch sind Wiederholbarkeit und Übereinstimmung zwischen verschiedenen und selbst erfahrenen Untersuchern häufig unbefriedigend (ca. 60-70 Prozent).

Neuerdings können wir am ISME zusätzlich zur herkömmlichen, subjektiven Lahmheits-Untersuchung, eine objektive Messung und Quantifizierung der Lahmheit anbieten. Dabei wird über am Körper haftende Sensoren die links-rechts Symmetrie (Asymmetrie=Unregelmässigkeit=Lahmheit) während der Bewegung gemessen und ausgewertet.

Gemeinsam bieten die subjektiven Eindrücke und die objektive Beurteilung eine genauere Aussage über Lokalisation und Grad der Lahmheit. Diese neue Technik hilft auch  Vergleichswerte erheben, die beispielsweise den Grad der subjektiv erfassten Besserung nach einer Lokalanästhesie oder Behandlung genauer beschreiben und dokumentieren.

In diesem Sinne werden die Bewegungssensoren auch in Forschungsprojekten eingesetzt. Erste ISME-Forschungsprojekte mit Untersuchungen beim Trabrennpferd sind bereits im Gange.

Eine weitere Studie, welche den Einfluss von routinemässig durchgeführten Zahnbehandlungen auf die Rittigkeit des Pferdes analysiert, ist in fortgeschrittener Planung. Die zum Teil aufwendige Auswertung der gewonnen Daten erfolgt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem renommierten „Structure and Motion Laboratory“ des Royal Veterinary College in London.