Pulmonary diseases

Horses which are kept in permanent stabling are exposed to a variety of allergens and irritants, which do not occur in a natural environment. In first place is hay dust, which contains mould spores and so-called endotoxins (toxins produced by microorganisms), which can trigger allergies. Such allergens and irritants are responsible for a series of wide-spread, non-contagious pulmonary diseases. As a connection with stabling clearly exists, these diseases are in a way civilization diseases. More than half of the Swiss sports and leisure horses are affected.

The serious forms of these diseases are characterized by cramp-like constrictions of the airways, infections and increased production of mucus. They strongly restrict the quality of life and capacity of the animals. A detailed scientific confrontation with the pulmonary health of the horse is therefore not only academically relevant, but is an obligation to our animals.

Our research in pulmonary diseases engages in improved diagnosis, therapy and preventive measures.  In the process we work closely together with national and international partners. The main project engages in research of the genetic background of recurrent airway obstruction (RAO), the most important pulmonary disease, associated with stabling.  The superior goal of this research is to improve the quality of life of our horses effectively.

Genetics of RAO

RAO, previously known as COB, COPD or „heaves“, is a complex illness caused by genetic and environmental factors, which has a lot in common with human asthma. The main reason for these airway diseases are the stabling conditions, which horses are not accustomed to naturally. Horses often spend a main part of their time in stables and are exposed to different irritating and allergenic substances from hay and straw dust.  Sensitive animals and especially those with a hereditary handicap develop thereafter often RAO.

First warning signs such as a sporadic cough are often underestimated by owners. It can happen that a horse, which used to show a top performance, declines in performance, coughs more often, shows nasal discharge and finally develops a pumping breathing and respiratory distress, even when relaxed.  To protect the long-lasting health of a horse, hay has to be replaced by other roughages. If necessary, special hypoallergenic bedding has to be used and the horse should spend as much time outside as possible.

Descendants of affected parent animals have an increased risk to develop the disease

Almost a hundred years ago already, it was observed, that certain stallions and mares passed on the disease. With the help of the latest genetic methods, ISME examines the hereditary background of this airway disease. The superior goal of this research is, to improve the quality of life of these animals, with early diagnosis and prevention of high-risk pairings. As a part of these projects, two stallions suffering from RAO were identified. The descendants of these stallions were found and examined and the owners were questioned with the help of a standardized questionnaire. DNA was isolated from blood samples of the descendants. The results showed that descendants of the affected animals have about a 5 time higher risk to develop the disease themselves than other horses.

Two chromosome regions identified – Association with skin allergies and defense against intestinal parasites

As the entire genetic make-up was mapped, two chromosome regions could be identified with the so-called „whole genome scan“, which can be strongly associated with RAO. Important genes of these chromosome regions will be further examined. One of these “candidate genes” is generally related to allergies and also to the defense of parasites in humans and other animals.  Our tests showed that RAO in horses is associated to an increased occurrence of skin allergies (summer eczema, urticaria) and a decreased excretion of parasite eggs.

Further tests, which are already under way, will show how genes regulate the resistance against parasites and the sensitivity for allergies by means of even larger numbers of horses and with the help of the latest gen chip technology.

Because of the many parallels to asthma and other allergies in humans but also to parasitic diseases in third world countries, this research is not only in the interest of veterinary medicine..

Affections pulmonaires

Les chevaux détenus en écurie sont soumis à de nombreux allergènes et substances irritantes non présentes dans leur environement naturel. La poussière de foin, contenant des spores de moisissures et des endotoxines (toxines produites par des microorganismes),  représente  la principale cause d’allergie. Ces allergènes et substances irritantes sont responsables d’affections pulmonaires non contagieuses. La cause de ces maladies étant la détention, on se trouve confronté à une maladie de civilisation. La forme grave de la maladie se traduit par un rétrécissement spasmodique des voies aériennes, une inflammation et une production accrue de mucus. La qualité de vie et les capacités sportives du cheval s’en trouvent affectées. Il est donc important au niveau académique mais aussi pour le bien-être du cheval d’effectuer des recherches sur cette pathologie pulmonaire.

Notre recherche dans le domaine des maladies pulmonaires englobe la recherche sur les méthodes de diagnostique, de thérapie et de prévention. Pour ce faire, nous travaillons en étroite collaboration avec des partenaires nationaux et internationaux. Le but principal de notre recherche est de déterminer la base génétique de l’obstruction chronique des voies respiratoires (OCVR). L’amélioration de la qualité de vie du cheval découlerons de cette recherche.

Génétique de l’OCVR

L’OCVR, anciennement appelée broncho-pneumopathie chronique obstructive (BPCO), ou la « pousse », est une maladie complexe liée à de multiples facteurs aussi bien génétiques qu’environnementaux. Cette maladie est en de nombreux points comparables à l’asthme humain. Les conditions de détention sont la cause principale de la maladie : les chevaux dans notre société passe le plus clair de leur temps en écurie où ils sont confrontés à de nombreuses substances allergènes et irritantes dégagées par la poussière du foin et de la paille. Les chevaux sensibles et porteurs d’une faiblesse génétique développent alors l’OCVR.

Les premiers signes annonciateurs de la maladie, tels une quinte de toux passagère sont souvent peu reconnus par les propriétaires. Avec le temps un cheval de sport va commencer à tousser de plus en plus, puis moucher et enfin montrer une respiration forcée au repos.  Afin de soigner la maladie de façon durable un changement d’alimentation en remplaçant le foin par un autre fourrage grossier, est nécessaire. Il est aussi parfois essentiel d’utiliser une litière pauvre en allergène et de laisser le cheval le plus possible à l’air libre.

Les descendants de chevaux affectés présentent un risque plus élevé de souffrir de la maladie.

Depuis presque cent ans, il a été observé que certains étalons et juments transmettaient la maladie à leurs descendants. À l’aide des nouvelles méthodes de diagnostique les bases génétiques de la maladie sont examinées à l’ISME. Le but de cette recherche, est à long terme, de pouvoir reconnaître la maladie dans sa phase latente et ainsi de ne pas inclure ces chevaux dans l’élevage. Cela permettrait d’améliorer la qualité de vie des chevaux. Dans le cadre de cette recherche deux étalons souffrant d’OCVR ont été identifiés. Les propriétaires des descendants de ces deux étalons ont été contactés interrogés par questionnaire. Une prise de sang des chevaux a été effectuée. L’ADN a ensuite été isolé et il a été montré que les descendants de chevaux atteints ont 5 fois plus de chances d’être atteints pas la maladie que d’autres chevaux.

Deux régions chromosomiques identifiées - liaison entre allergie cutanée et défense immunitaire contre les parasites intestinaux

Le génome équin étant décodé, il a été possible de mettre en corrélation deux régions chromosomiques avec l’OCVR. Des gènes importants se situent dans ces régions. Un de ces gènes est mis en lien chez l’homme et chez d’autres espèces, avec les allergies et avec la défense immunitaire contre les parasites intestinaux. De même, nous avons pu mettre en évidence chez le cheval un lien entre l’affectation d’OCVR et l’apparition élevée d’allergies cutanées (exéma, dermatite estivale) et la sécrétion diminuée de parasites intestinaux.

À l’aide de réseau microscopique d’ADN en cours, la régulation  des gènes pour la résistance contre les parasites et les allergies est examinée. Dû aux similarités avec l’asthme et d’autres allergies humaines ainsi qu’avec des affections parasitaires dans les pays émergeants, la recherche sur l’OCVR est un sujet de recherche non limité à la médecine vétérinaire.